"Our students are engaged, intelligent, and committed to decency and integrity—a privilege to teach and, in time, to know as colleagues."

—Professor A.J. Bellia, Founding Director

Law Students

The Notre Dame Law School has many students interested in the study of constitutional law and the structure of government. Our students hail from dozens of different states and represent a highly selective student body. The faculty admires them not only for their strong intellects, but for their integrity and colleagiality. As Professor A.J. Bellia, Founding Director of the Program on Constitutional Structure puts it, "Our students are engaged, intelligent, and committed to decency and integrity—a privilege to teach and, in time, to know as colleagues."

Laura Aronsson

Laura Aronsson is a third-year student from Vermont who attended Yale University and will clerk after graduation for Judge David W. McKeague of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

"My favorite aspect of my study of constitutional law at Notre Dame has been class discussions. From intimate seminars to larger lectures, the professors challenge the students with stimulating questions on timely topics. With thoughtfully selected and carefully edited reading assignments as a base, students are more than willing to participate, and the professors are eager to listen and respond. Outside of the classroom, professors are readily available to sit down and discuss in depth students' questions."

Patrick Cassidy

Patrick Cassidy is a third-year Wisconsin native who attended Boston College and will clerk after graduation for Judge Diarmuid F. O'Scannlain of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

"Notre Dame's constitutional law offerings challenge students, and in doing so, prepare them to analyze complex issues of constitutional importance. My first year constitutional law course provided me with the historical background and core principles to understand contemporary constitutional law issues, and upper-level electives have given me the opportunity to engage the theories and assumptions underlying constitutional law at a deeper level.  

"Notre Dame's constitutional law faculty members make the coursework accessible, exciting, and enjoyable. My constitutional law professors consistently deliver enlightening lectures and facilitate thoughtful discussion and debate among students."


"[O]ur founding institutional vision: to become a wellspring of hearts and minds devoted to the common good."

—Father John Jenkins, University President

Tricia with Student 1

The University of Notre Dame has an internationally renowned faculty in the area of constitutional structure—including leading experts in administrative law, comparative constitutional law, federalism, separation of powers, and a host of other fields of constitutional study. The Program shares the University's "founding institutional vision," as described by University President Father John Jenkins: "to become a wellspring of hearts and minds devoted to the common good."



Amy Barrett

  Amy Coney Barrett

Professor of Law


Professor Anthony Bellia

Anthony J. Bellia Jr. 

O'Toole Professor of Constitutional Law


Professor Patricia Bellia

Patricia L. Bellia

William J. and Dorothy K. O'Neill Professor of Law
Notre Dame Presidential Fellow


Professor Gerard Bradley

Gerard V. Bradley

Professor of Law


Professor Paolo Carozza

Paolo G. Carozza

Professor of Law
Director, Kellogg Institute for International Studies


Professor Barry Cushman

Barry Cushman

John P. Murphy Foundation Professor of Law


Professor Richard Garnett

Richard W. Garnett

Paul J. Schierl/Fort Howard Corporation Professor of Law
Director, Program on Church, State & Society


Professor Patrick Griffin

Patrick Griffin

Madden-Hennebry Professor of History


Professor William Kelley

William K. Kelley

Associate Professor of Law


Professor Donald Kommers

Donald P. Kommers

Joseph and Elizabeth Robbie Professor of Political Science Emeritus and Professor of Law Emeritus


Professor Randy Kozel

Randy J. Kozel

Diane and M.O. Miller II Research Professor of Law
Director, Program on Constitutional Structure


Professor Jennifer Mason McAward

Jennifer Mason McAward

Associate Professor of Law
Director, Center for Civil and Human Rights


Professor Phillip Munoz

Vincent Phillip Munoz

Tocqueville Associate Professor, Political Science
Concurrent Associate Professor of Law


Jeff Pojanowski

Jeff Pojanowski

Professor of Law


Professor Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Professor of Law


Professor Jay Tidmarsh

Jay Tidmarsh

Judge James J. Clynes, Jr., Professor of Law


Professor Michael Zuckert

Michael P. Zuckert

Nancy R. Dreux Professor of Political Science